Connect with us
PSN is sponsored by Beaver County Auto

Duquesne Football

Duquesne’s Jerry Schmitt Named Finalist for Eddie Robinson Award



Jerry Schmitt’s coaching job with the 2018 Duquesne Dukes was recognized nationally today.

This morning, Schmitt was named one of fifteen finalists for the 32nd annual FCS STATS Eddie Robinson Award. This prestigious award goes to the FCS national coach of the year.

On Saturday, the Dukes won the NEC Title and qualified for the FCS playoffs where they have first round matchup on Saturday vs. Towson.

This season, Duquesne finished with a record of 8-3 and two of those losses were against Hawaii and UMass.

The Eddie Robinson Award was named for the legendary Grambling State coach and some of the past winners include Jim Tressel, Paul Johnson, Houston Nutt, Jerry Kill, Mark Duffner.

The winner will be named on January 4 in Frisco, Texas at the STATS FSC Awards banquet where they’ll also announce the Walter Payton Award (FCS Offensive Player of the Year), the Buck Buchanan Award (FCS Defensive Player of the Year), the Jerry Rice Award (FCS Freshman of the Year) and the Doris Robinson Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Sandy Schall, Coldwell Banker
Like Pittsburgh Sports Now on Facebook!
Send this to a friend