Connect with us
PSN is sponsored by Beaver County Auto

College Football

Slippery Rock’s Henry Litwin Named a Finalist for the 2021 William V. Campbell Trophy



Former Slippery Rock defensive end Marcus Martin was the only Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference finalist for the William V. Campbell Trophy in the conference’s history before this season. SRU now has the only two finalists in conference history.

Slippery Rock redshirt senior wide receiver Henry Litwin was announced as the only Division II finalist for the 2021 William V. Campbell Trophy presented by the National Football Foundation and the College Football Hall of Fame.

The Campbell Trophy is awarded to the individual in college athletics that best exemplifies academic success, football performance and exemplary leadership.

Litwin is a Division II All-American and CoSIDA Academic All-American, showcasing his excellence in the classroom and on the football field. He’s racked up 38 receptions for 692 yards and eight touchdowns this season beginning his MBA degree at Slippery Rock. He graduated with an undergraduate degree of safety management, holding a 3.66 GPA.

Litwin is arguably the greatest wide receiver in the history of Slippery Rock football, reaching the 3,000-yard platform this season. In just three seasons as a starter, he’s caught 191 passes for 3,036 yards and 37 touchdowns. He ranks second in both career receptions and yards and first in career receiving touchdowns in team history.

As a finalist for the top student-athlete honor in college football, Litwin will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the 2021 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class Presented by Fidelity Investments. The scholarship will jump to $25,000 if he’s named the winner of the prestigious award at the 63rd NFF Annual Awards Dinner presented by Las Vegas on Dec. 7 at the ARIA Resort & Casino Las Vegas.

The other finalists are Montana State’s Troy Anderson, Stanford’s Mike Caliendo, Lindsey Wilson’s Cameron Dukes, Oklahoma’s Patrick Fields, Wisconsin’s Matt Henningsen, Michigan’s Aidan Hutchinson, U.S. Merchant Marine Academy’s Joshua King, Iowa State’s Charlie Kolar, Penn State’s Sean Clifford, West Virginia’s Sean Mahone and Arkansas’s Grant Morgan.

Martin was the only previous finalist for the Campbell Trophy, making Slippery Rock just one of eight Division II schools with multiple finalists.

Sandy Schall, Coldwell Banker
Click to comment
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Get PSN in your inbox!

Enter your email and get all of our posts delivered straight to your inbox.

Like Pittsburgh Sports Now on Facebook!
Send this to a friend