Connect with us


WPIAL Announces Hall of Fame Class of 2022



PITTSBURGH — The WPIAL announced 16 individuals and teams that will be part of the WPIAL Hall of Fame’s Class of 2022 on Wednesday at the Senator John Heinz History Center.

The class will be the 15th in the Hall of Fame’s history, and the new inductees will join the previous 232 members and teams already honored at the history center.

“The process and selection has been a long time in the makings,” executive director Amy Scheuneman said. “Individuals mentioned here today made their way through an extensive list of qualified candidates.”

Announced as the newest honorees as athletes on Wednesday were Dion Bentley, Penn Hills track and field; Mallory Dietrich, Oakland Catholic swimming; Bob Gorinski, Mt. Pleasant baseball and football; Micah Mason, Highlands basketball; Jason Nolf, Kittanning wrestling; Brianne O’Rourke, Oakland Catholic basketball; Chad Salisbury, Frazier football, baseball and basketball; and Brian Simmons, Peters Township baseball.

Two coaches were honored, Robert Kalp, Hempfield Area softball and Chuck Tursky, Kiski Area wrestling. Official Ron Tyburski and contributor Ruth Ann Burke were also in the class.

Connellsville quarterback Johnny Lujack was enshrined as a heritage nominee. Norwin girls’ soccer player Sydney Willig was honored with the courage award.

Additionally, two entire teams were recognized, the 1990 Aliquippa girls’ basketball team and the 2011 Mars girls’ soccer team.

The WPIAL Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place Friday, May 27 at the DoubleTree Hotel in Green Tree.

Sandy Schall, Coldwell Banker
Click to comment
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Get PSN in your inbox!

Enter your email and get all of our posts delivered straight to your inbox.

Like Pittsburgh Sports Now on Facebook!
Send this to a friend