Connect with us

Duquesne Women's Basketball

Duquesne WBB’s McConnell Once Again Recognized By A-10



Duquesne Women’s Basketball junior guard Megan McConnell earned a trio of honors as voted on by the conference’s 15 head coaches and revealed Tuesday afternoon.

McConnell, earned spots on the All-Conference First Team, All-Defensive Team and All-Academic Team.

Duquesne basketball on Pittsburgh Sports Now is sponsored by The Summit Academy: setting young men on the path to a better future.

Setting young men on the path to a better future.

She was joined on the first team by George Mason’s Sonia Smith, Richmond’s Maggie Doogan, Richmond’s Grace Townsend, Saint Joseph’s Laura Ziegler and VCU’S Sarah Te-Biasu.

The All-Defensive Team also included Ziegler, Richmond’s Addie Budnik, Saint Louis’s Kennedy Calhoun and Julia Martinez and lastly VCU’s Mykel Parham.

Parham, Townsend, Rhode Island’s Sophie Phillips and Saint Joseph’s Talya comprised the All-Academic Team.

McConnell led the Dukes with 13.2 points and 8.6 rebounds per game. Additionally, as a 5-foot-7 guard, she came away with 203 defensive rebounds which placed her second in the A-10. Her highlights also include 134 assists against 57 turnovers and 56 steals, in addition to eight double-doubles.

The guard also shot 45.3% from the field and 40.3% from three-point range.

Below are the entire awards as voted on by the coaches.

Atlantic 10 Player of the Year– Sarah Te-Biasu VCU

Rookie of the Year– Zahirah Walton George Mason

Most Improved Player– Sonia Smith George Mason

Defensive Player of the Year– Addie Budnik Richmond

Sixth Woman of the Year– Rachel Ullstrom Richmond

Coach of the Year– Aaron Roussell Richmond


All-Conference First Team

Megan McConnell Duquesne

Sonia Smith George Mason

Maggie Doogan Richmond

Grace Townsend Richmond

Laura Ziegler Saint Joseph’s

Sarah Te-Biasu VCU


All-Conference Second Team

Taylor Donaldson Fordham

Maye Toure Rhode Island

Addie Budnik Richmond

Talya Brugler Saint Joseph’s

Mackenzie Smith Saint Joseph’s

Kyla McMakin Saint Louis


Duquesne's 2024 March Madness Tournament coverage is sponsored by Leon's Billiards & More, Moon Golf Club and Archie's on Carson! Their contributions have allowed us to cover the Dukes run in Omaha, Nebraska. We appreciate their support!

All-Conference Third Team

Charlise Dunn Davidson

Elle Sutphin Davidson

Zahirah Walton George Mason

Nya Robertson George Washington

Sam Galanopoulos Loyola Chicago

Timaya Lewis-Eutsey VCU


All-Defensive Team

Megan McConnell Duquesne

Addie Budnik Richmond

Laura Ziegler Saint Joseph’s

Kennedy Calhoun Saint Louis

Julia Martinez Saint Louis

Mykel Parham VCU


All-Academic Team

Megan McConnell Duquesne

Sophie Phillips Rhode Island

Grace Townsend Richmond

Talya Brugler Saint Joseph’s

Mykel Parham VCU


All-Rookie Team

Kennedy Harris George Mason

Zahirah Walton George Mason

Nicole Melious La Salle

Lilly Taulelei Massachusetts

Lucia Sotelo VCU

Sandy Schall, Coldwell Banker
Click to comment
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Get PSN in your inbox!

Enter your email and get all of our posts delivered straight to your inbox.

Like Pittsburgh Sports Now on Facebook!
Send this to a friend