Connect with us


WPIAL Winter Sports Sections Released for Boys’ Basketball



Earlier this week, the WPIAL announced changes to its sectional alignment for the upcoming winter sports seasons in 2024-25 and 2025-26.


6A – 16 Teams

Section 1: Butler, Fox Chapel, New Castle, North Allegheny, North Hills, Pine-Richland, Seneca Valley, Woodland Hills.

Section 2: Canon-McMilan, Central Catholic, Connelsville, Hempfield Area, Imani Christian (voluntary upgrade to 6A), Mt. Lebanon, Norwin, Upper St. Clair.

5A – 29 Teams

Section 1: Albert Gallatin, Franklin Regional, Gateway, Greater Latrobe, Laurel Highlands, McKeesport, Penn-Trafford, Uniontown.

Section 2: Armstong, Hampton, Indiana, Kiski Area, Penn Hills, Plum, Shaler.

Section 3: Baldwin, Bethel Park, Peters Township, Ringgold, South Fayette, Thomas Jefferson, Trinity.

Section 4: Blackhawk, Chartiers Valley, Lincoln Park, Mars, Montour, Moon, West Allegheny.

4A – 20 Teams

Section 1: Burrell, Deer Lakes, Freeport, Highlands, Knoch, North Catholic, Valley.

Section 2: Ambridge, Avonworth, Beaver, Central Valley, Hopewell, Quaker Valley.

Section 3: Belle Vernon, Derry, East Allegheny, Elizabeth Forward, Greensburg Salem, West Mifflin, Yough.

3A – 25 Teams

Section 1: Aliquippa, Beaver Falls, Ellwood City, Freedom Area, Mohawk, New Brighton, Riverside.

Section 2: Bishop Canevin (voluntary upgrade), Carlynton, Keystone Oaks, McGuffey, Sto-Rox, Washington.

Section 3: Apollo-Ridge, Seton LaSalle, Shady Side Academy, South Allegheny, South Park, Steel Valley.

Section 4: Brownsville, Charleroi, Ligonier Valley, Mt. Pleasant, Southmoreland, Waynesburg Central.

2A – 31 Teams

Section 1: Bentworth, California, Clairton, Frazier, Greensburg C.C., Jeannette, Riverview, Springdale.

Section 2: Brentwood, Eden Christian (voluntary upgrade), Leechburg, Northgate, Propel Braddock Hills, Sewickley Academy, Winchester Thurston.

Section 3: Bethlehem-Center, Burgettstown, Carmichaels, Chartiers-Houston, Fort Cherry, Jefferson-Morgan, Mapletown (voluntary upgrade), West Greene.

Section 4: Laurel, Neshannock, O.L.S.H, Rochester, Shenango, South Side, Union, Western Beaver.

1A – 12 Teams

Section 1: Aquinas, Avella, Beaver County Christian, Cornell, Nazareth Prep, The Summit Academy.

Section 2: Environmental Charter, Geibel Catholic, Monessen, The Neighborhood Academy, Saint Joseph, Serra Catholic.

Check out the Girls’ basketball and gymnastics section alignments via the photos below. All information courtesy of WPIAL.

Sandy Schall, Coldwell Banker
Click to comment
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Get PSN in your inbox!

Enter your email and get all of our posts delivered straight to your inbox.

Like Pittsburgh Sports Now on Facebook!
Send this to a friend