Connect with us

Duquesne Women's Basketball

Duquesne WBB’s Lass, Omogrosso named to Atlantic 10 All-Conference Teams



PITTSBURGH — The Duquesne women’s basketball team received three honors in the Atlantic 10 Women’s Basketball Awards.

As voted by all 14 of the conference’s coaches, Duquesne senior guard Chassidy Omogrosso made the Atlantic 10 All-Conference Second Team and senior forward Kadri-Ann Lass made All-Conference Third Team and All-Defensive Team.

Duquesne basketball on Pittsburgh Sports Now is sponsored by The Summit Academy: setting young men on the path to a better future.

Setting young men on the path to a better future.

Omogrosso, was named to the All-Conference First Team both last season and preseason this year. In Tuesday’s Atlantic 10 Championship first round win against Rhode Island, she scored a game-high 22 points on 8-of-12 shooting and passed Candace Futrell for third on the program’s all-time scoring list.

On the season, Omogrosso averages 12.3 points per game and is a 79% free throw shooter. Since Atlantic 10 play began, Omogrosso has shot 86.3% from the free throw line.

This is the first postseason occasion in which Lass was named to an All-Conference Team. She previously was on the 2016 All-Rookie Team and now has made the All-Conference Defensive Team for a second consecutive season.

Last year as a junior, Lass broke Duquesne’s all-time blocks record and with her 67 blocks has eclipsed 60 blocks in three of her four seasons.

Following Lass’s five blocks, she surpassed her own freshman total for third most single-season blocks in program history.

This season, Lass averages 11.1 points per game and is a 72.7% free throw shooter.

Duquesne will play Saint Louis Friday in the final quarterfinal game of the Atlantic 10 Championship with a scheduled tipoff time of 7 p.m. Every tournament game from here on out will be played at Duquesne’s Palumbo Center.

Atlantic 10 Women’s Basketball Awards

Player of the Year: Nicole Cardano-Hillary George Mason

Defensive Player of the Year: Kerri McMahan Saint Louis

Rookie of the Year: Ciaja Harbison Saint Louis

Coach of the Year: Beth O’Boyle VCU

Most Improved Player: Sarah Donovan Davidson

Sixth Women of the Year: Justine Lyon Davidson


All-Conference First Team

Jayla Scaife Dayton

Bre Cavanaugh Fordham

Mary Goulding Fordham

Nicole Cardano-Hillary George Mason

Tera Reed VCU


All-Conference Second Team

Sarah Donovan Davidson

Lauren Cannatelli Dayton

Chassidy Omogrosso Duquesne

Alyssa Monaghan Saint Joseph’s

Jordyn Frantz Saint Louis

Ciaja Harbison Saint Louis


All-Conference Third Team

Justine Lyon Davidson

Katie Turner Davidson

Kadri-Ann Lass Duquesne

Mei-Lyn Bautista George Washington

Danielle Hammond VCU

Taya Robinson VCU


All-Academic Team

Lauren Cannatelli Dayton

Mary Goulding Fordham

Sarah Kaminski George Mason

Mckenna Maycock St. Bonaventure

Kerri McMahan Saint Louis


All-Defensive Team

Kadri-Ann Lass Duquesne

Mei-Lyn Bautista GW

Brooke Flowers Saint Louis

Kerri McMahan Saint Louis

Taya Robinson VCU


All-Rookie Team

Destiney Philoxy Massachusetts

Deja Francis St. Bonaventure

Katie Jekot Saint Joseph’s

Brooke Flowers Saint Louis

Ciaja Harbison Saint Louis

Kseniya Malashka VCU

  • There was a tie for the last spot on the All-Conference Second Team, Third Team and All-Rookie Team thus each of those respective teams has six members instead of the usual five.

Sandy Schall, Coldwell Banker
Click to comment
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Like Pittsburgh Sports Now on Facebook!
Send this to a friend